Unit 8 – Research

The idea for this song first came about after listening to “Some unholy war” by Amy Winehouse off of her album back to black. After i had heard this version i began to practice it on guitar. I found it interesting how such a variety of unusual chords were put together and sounded so well. After listening to it over a few times i listened to the down tempo version on the same album and i really liked this version a lot more.  This is mainly down to the down tempo version being more laid back and chilled in comparison to the original version. My final song doesn’t really sound like either of these versions but I do think it fits in to a similar genre.

Another song that somewhat contributed to my final unit 8 song was the the song “Hotel California” by the Eagles. Although this song didn’t have an overall influence on my song, element of it did push me to change the mood of the song. The verses of the song were definitely swayed more towards Amy Winehouses style. The choruses definitely lift the song up and that’s the feeling I took away from ” Hotel California”.

The last song that influenced my song differs on quite a large scale to the past two. The third song is “West coast” by Lana Del Ray.  Whist listening through Ultraviolet, this song stood out for me. Each time I hear it I still feel like it should be two separate songs. But on the other hand it makes sense the way it is . This was the reason that “West coast ” influenced my own song. The verse and chorus of both songs change the mood quite a bit and the vibe feels different. Listening to ” West coast” more recently, the lead guitar reminds me of the one on my song too.

 

During the recording process for unit 8 certain issues definitely stand out more then others. The main one being timing. Although the timing issues that occurred during unit 8 weren’t exactly down to my timing, I have found this experience helpful in many ways. After finally solving these issues I did some research into the important of using a metronome whilst recording. Whilst reading this article I definitely will make sure that I play along to a metronome instead of playing to a piano or other instrument incase  it is out of time like what happened on this project. By doing this stuff will get recorded a whole lot quicker. As well after reading this article I think that I will consider practicing with a metronome on occasion.

http://www.stetina.com/lessons/metronome.html

Another issue that I came across during unit 8 was recording with an acoustic guitar. Personally I think the reason that this was an issue was down to three different factors. The first being that the piano I was playing to was a bit hard to play too which at the time I didn’t know it was out of time. The second being that we had to keep re recording because on certain takes the signal wasn’t coming through very strong. The sound that was being recorded reminded me of ” The masterplan” by Oasis because of how thin the acoustic guitar sounds.  The third was down to my lack of experience playing on acoustic guitars. These issues definitely led to me playing on an electric guitar instead. Now having a final song I think using a electric guitar was definitely a better choice.

 

The most recent documentary I watched was Supersonic. I did expect good things from this documentary and it didn’t fail to meet my expectations. As well as being eye opening to the bands stuggles through the early 90s, it also was very amusing with commentary from both Liam and Noel Gallagher throughout. The documentary was leading up to Oasis playing at Knebworth where they performed to 125,000 people.

Leave a Reply

